adapting

I am finding my manner of speaking changing to using more local terms and mannerisms. I have always secretly judged people who change their accent or mimic others’ accents/mannerisms depending on who they speak to or where they are. It always struck me as insecure and awkward.

I find myself talking more local to those who are local, especially at my job, where I am trying to relate to people and help them at a stressful point in their lives. The shift has been unintentional, but I have been aware of it. I think I have figured out why.

Subconsciously we try to put others at ease, especially in situations of helping or comforting. People who are in need have to do a lot of things on others’ terms, this has always bothered me. I have given thought to how to affirm someones personal importance and dignity, of finding ways within the required parameters of the different programs I have worked for over the years to let the client lead their goal setting and my meetings with them. I find myself, out of empathy and a desire to communicate and empower, mirroring the speech of others. I don’t do this to my coworkers, or anyone who is not local.

I’m not sure how I feel about this, long held secret judginess is hard to let go of. Also, I am not good at it, pronunciation of some of these Hawaiian words and names is challenging.  But I have found before, trying and failing to relate to someones culture gets you further in relating with someone than not trying at all, it often becomes a bonding and learning moment. The world is too wide to not try to immerse yourself in local culture and custom wherever you go.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Tell me what you think!

