I am something non-rocky| Daily Prompt

Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock

Is it easy for you to ask for help when you need it, or do you prefer to rely only on yourself? Why?

I am not a rock. I don’t rely on myself, even if I occasionally try to. It is not necessarily easy, however, to ask for help. Life is complex, actions are complicated, decisions do not take place in a vacuum. Help comes sometimes that you did not ask for, but needed, or didn’t need. It comes sometimes based on the needs, or lack of need, of others to provide help. Sometimes help just doesn’t come even when you beg for it desperately.

If the complexities of life in the abstract weren’t enough to convince me of my non-rock-ness, I am also married. It doesn’t matter if I could create a relatively self-reliant life on my own. Andy and I both need to contribute to the life we have together. I need to rely on him, and to be the one he relies on, too. Our life together requires more reliance than either of our separate lives would need. The combined need is greater than the sum of its parts. Learning the balance of need is why married partners need a lifetime together to figure it out; the balance of the whole shifts continually based on our individual needs.

I am not a rock, not for myself at least. I strive to be a rock for my husband, as he strives to be mine. I’d like to think that I can be a rock for others who need it, if just for their moment of need.

But to be a rock, just for myself? That conjures to mind the image of a rocky outcrop in the ocean, unmoving when pounded by the waves, unchanging when the waves are calm. Needing nothing from the ocean but worn away, slowly over the millennia, until it becomes the sand on the ocean floor.

I am no rock, and I am glad of it.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to I am something non-rocky| Daily Prompt

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | To Breathe is to Write

  2. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock – IT’S MY LIFE | Phoenix Flights

  3. Pingback: Daily Prompt: I Am a Rock | Motherhood and Beyond

  4. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

  5. Pingback: Do I really need anyone’s help? | Rob's Surf Report

Tell me what you think!

