Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause

So I thought I would try one of wordpress’ daily prompts, and here seemed one tailor made for me:

If your day to day responsibilities were taken care of and you could throw yourself completely behind a cause, what would it be?

After all, what kind of life could be better than having day to day responsibilities taken care of, leaving me free to save the world?

For years I had thought I could do it, save the worlds problems. I was going to go to Afghanistan, work at secret girls’ schools; Somalia to eliminate FGM and child marriage. I was going to put an end to honor killings in India, free the political prisoners in China, stop the use of child soldiers in Uganda, protect the lands for unreached peoples in South America. I wanted to single-handedly end worldwide sex slavery and child hunger, bring a cure for HIV, and negotiate peace in the Middle East.

So what would today I do if I had no responsibilities except for moral ones? I have no idea. Maybe its my current streak of being more often than not un-or-under employed for the last few years due to circumstances, but to me now, being able to feel like I could fulfill all my personal responsibilities sounds fantastic. I want to see the world saved, and contribute where I can, but I also want to see my own world put in order.  That seems like a good cause.

This post ended up exactly the opposite of where I intended it to go when I started. Maybe that’s a good metaphor for my life right now.

In response to: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause

  1. Pingback: Daily Prompt: Blogger With a Cause | Joe's Musings

  2. Pingback: Just because… | Natasha's Memory Garden

Tell me what you think!

